English flag Chinese (Simplified) flag French flag Hindi flag Italian flag Japanese flag Korean flag Russian flag Spanish flag

Brand Search

Category:     Keywords:   
 
Written by Enzo "Del Fuego" Stoini    Tuesday, 31 March 2009 00:37   
Yamaha Jog Modifying Guide

The time has come, it has been a year now since we went live here on www.thescooterreview.com and for all that time we have had an itch... a, grating, deep seated itch that we couldn’t quite reach... no it isn’t fleas! Let me give you some history here...

some of us, I won’t say who for fear of recrimination but “some of us” used to be quite heavily involved in the modified car scene. In the States it is called Import Tuning, in New Zealand we were probably covered by the umbrella “Boy Racers” Long story short we had a lot to do with taking normal, sedate family cars and making them go fast... sure we would start (usually) with a car that had some potential for modification but we produced and reported on some pretty mind blowing turbocharged, nitrous fed, fire breathing monsters.

So that modifying bug hasn’t left us completely, sure, we saw the light and abandoned those two extra wheels but there has been something missing in our lives... that thing we desire is to take an ordinary mode of transport and turning it into... to coin a phrase... “Party Time” and I’m not talking an exhaust and carbon fibre stickers.  I am talking about full on, all out crazy mods!

After a surprisingly short chat about our plans to Mr Yamaha in NZ we managed to wrestle a brand new shiny, fresh outta the crate Yamaha Jog CV50, 50cc two-stroke in black. Yes indeed, the very same Jog that won our 50cc SUPER BATTLE... I told you we try and start from a solid base.

So what’s the plan, simple really... we just want to build THE FASTEST 50cc scooter on the planet! We don’t dream small here at TSR. Just to make it a little more complicated for ourselves we don’t want to increase the capacity, we want the little Jog to retain it’s 49cc capacity. Our aim is to modify progressively in stages... the first few will be fairly sensible, the sort of mod’s that you could probably do to your own machine without it needing an engine rebuild every 3.4 feet. When the standard, exhaust, carburettor, rollers etc are done we will then start into ridiculous mode... Turbo, Supercharger, Nitrous, Methanol... who knows where it will lead... we will probably refrain from strapping jets to it... but who can tell how silly we will get! Keep your eyes peeled and we will keep the updates coming... including a video based modifying guide to go with the text... hell it is the way of the future! Wish us luck!

Comments (14)add
0
...
written by enzo , March 16, 2010
jog is a very good scooter in suriname
they race with them.they make a hige speed level 150 km

report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: -1
0
...
written by Rob , March 09, 2010
Well it's been over a year now, I guess this project has become defunct?
report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: +0
0
...
written by DangerMice , December 24, 2009
come on, come on, come on, come on...... :D
report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: +0
0
...
written by brianh , October 24, 2009
I heard that Yamaha want there Jog back. Said something about being conned out of a scooter.
report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: +8
Spearfish
...
written by Spearfish , September 22, 2009
Well Its been a while since the idea of modding a jog showed up here and its taking a long time to put the series together. Since then I think the subscribers of this article have hit the ground running with mods to there own jogs including myself. It will be interesting to compare results as it progresses.

report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: +0
0
...
written by jackpro , August 23, 2009
I have just bought me a 2005 50cc jog and have it has exhaust restrictor removed already. I have fitted CDI via scootling & this has fixed electronic restriction. next is 70cc and variator. I will probably stop there as I want it to look stock as :) sleeper is always fun!
report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: +0
vincel
...
written by vincel , August 19, 2009
Sorry for the delay guys, due to the foul weather and other commitments the Mighty Jog has only just been run in. First mods should be happening in the next couple of weeks... keep an eye out
report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: +0
0
...
written by UberRhys , August 14, 2009
What have you done to the Jog yet? Have you done any mods? I have a friend who is keen on getting more out of his Jog and this pages looks to be just the thing...

I look forward to seeing your progress? Are you going to dyno it before and after the mods?

Rhys.
report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: +0
0
...
written by pb , May 18, 2009
funnily enough i have that exact same jog and came across this page as I want to modify my own jog. Though I was thinking that to get any sort of significant power increase i would need to go the 70cc big bore kit route so I am very keen to see what you guys get out of the standard engine.
PS: It was because of your awesome 50cc scooter review that i ended up buying the jog in the first place and it hasnt disappointed me. A fantastic and fun scooter. Cheers
report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: -2
0
...
written by Yousef , May 02, 2009
Do it! I wanna see how to mod my own Jog!

Awesome site, keep it up!
report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: +0
0
...
written by GW , April 06, 2009
I am a bit surprised that you guys previously where into car tuning and then moved on to making a scooter reviewing site. Scooters in general aren't known for being fast, while cars with several hundred horsepower usually are.

I agree with Spearfish's points about building it up in stages and balance between cost, performance and reliability.
Though, for vehicles used for racing and/or record breaking, then cost and reliability usually maters less then for everyday vehicles.

I think you guys are absolutely right about retain it’s 49cc capacity.
If you compromise that point you take out most of the fun from the challenge and it's questionable if it's even to be considered a moped if you go above 50.0cc

I read a little about moped racing. Where you are allowed to do tuning, but not exceed the 50cc limit and some mopeds still get 15hp, not bad.

When you are done with the Jog. It would be interesting if you could take a 4 stroke 125 scooter and give it similar treatment and still not exceed 125cc.
report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: -1
0
...
written by 808 Ross , April 03, 2009
Awesome, I can't wait to see what you guys do!
report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: -1
Spearfish
...
written by Spearfish , April 01, 2009
What a great project, building it up in stages gives me the info needed to pull out or stop at my own level of modification. For me its finding a balance of three things, Cost, Speed, Reliability.
Will you be able to do a dyno test at the different levels or will you use real life use testing?
Cheers Spearfish
report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: -1
0
...
written by MÃ¥rten , March 31, 2009
Cool project!
I am looking forword to see when you do the same thing with the Gilera Nexus, Kymco Xciting 500, Yamaha T-Max or the Suzuki Burgman 650!
report abuse
vote down
vote up
Votes: +3
Write comment
smaller | bigger

busy
Last Updated ( Saturday, 03 September 2011 05:51 )
 

YouTube

Visit us on YouTube for our latest videos.

Sponsored Links